Violet (Chapter 16)

Author : Navaya Gaia Chandra

Cast :

An Yujin

Jang Wonyoung

Kim Chaewon

Kim Minjoo

Choi Yena

Jo Yuri

Kang Hyewon

Miyawaki Sakura

Kwon Eunbi

Lee Chaeyeon

Lee Kaeun

Kim Sejeong

Kang Mina

Kim Doyeon

Jeon Heejin

Kim Hyunjin

Choi Yerim

Lee Soonkyu

Nam Dohyon

Genre : Fantasy, Thriller, Drama, Action

Playlist :

Alan Walker ft Ruben – Heading Home

Westlife – Swear It Again

Justin Bieber ft Chris Brown – Up

Keshi – I Swear I’ll Never Leave Again

Taylor Swift ft The Civil War – Safe & Sound

Length : Series

Desclaimer:

This is just for fun.

Just a pure fiction story.

Imagination. Fantasy. Dream.

 

Copyright. ©Navaya. 2020. All right reserved

Please, don’t try to copy this story without prior written permission from the Author.

Thanks 🙂

 

 

 

CHAPTER 16

– Twin Flame –

 

Seoul

Friday, October 17th, 2025

“How long have you known Unnies?”

Yujin stopped humming and turned to the girl next to her. Wonyoung was looking at her curiously. The younger girl seemed astonished about the relationship between the older girl she just met a month ago with the unnies. They look so close and never awkward with each other, unlike other relationship with quite long gap in general. They’re like siblings with different parents.

“Hmm..” Yujin muttered. Her eyes narrowed like she was thinking about something. “Long enough. Since senior year in high school.” Yujin smiled bitterly as she said that. For that question, she chose to not tell the truth to Wonyoung.

Wonyoung counted using her fingers slowly, and Yujin knew she was counting how long she has known the unnies. Wonyoung nodded as she finished.

“You met them when I was in Quebec. That’s why I never see you.”

Quebec.

So that’s where the Delta Team hid Wonyoung from them. Yujin only nodded and smiled, hiding her emotion from the younger girl.

“I had an accident while on vacation in Quebec and was in a coma state for almost two months. When I awake, I didn’t remember anything,” Wonyoung talked casually and let out a chuckle, but Yujin noticed the bitter tone from her voice. “The last thing I remember at that time, I just moved from Osaka to Seoul.”

“Any interesting stuff in Quebec?” Yujin decided it would be best to put aside the heavy feelings in her heart and chose to give her small talk that would makes Wonyoung feel comfortable.

“Oh, there is,” Wonyoung nodded enthusiastically. “I really like the winter festival there. The winter festival in Quebec felt so warm. It’s a shame I didn’t have time to go skiing and vacation at a resort. I wasn’t there for too long. Only six months during the recovery period. After that I lived in Virginia with Gyuri Unnie until I graduated high school. Every now and then, the Delta Team Unnies visited us. After graduation I parted ways with Gyuri Unnie. She moved to Osaka to take care of my father’s company while I continued my studies in London with Chaeyeon Unnie until I moved to this college.”

Yujin nodded. Jang Gyuri or Gianna Veronica Jang is Wonyoung’s eldest sister. Their age gap is quite far, and when Yujin met and be friends with Wonyoung, Jang Gyuri has already studying abroad. That made Yujin never meet the older girl.

“Why did you choose to come back here? Does London bore you?”

“I always dream of many places in Seoul and feel called. After I talked about this with Kaeun Unnie and Eunbi Unnie, I decided I should go back to Seoul. The place where my Pillar are and look! It’s so nice because I found you too, my last pillar. Maybe that’s the reason why I felt like I must comeback.” Wonyoung smiled broadly. She leaned back comfortably in her seat and glanced at Yujin. The older girl looked seriously staring at the streets and made Wonyoung smile, remembering how Yujin behaved in college and in front of unnies.

In the college, Yujin looks mysterious, distant and is more often seen with her close friends. While in front of unnies, Yujin looks so free and naughty. Every time they met, Yujin was always amaze her with her antics that bothered the unnies until they were annoyed. For some reason, seeing that routine became a small happiness for Wonyoung.

“I’m glad to meet you in this situation. It wasn’t easy to get my memory back and it took me quite a while to remember Hyewon Unnie, Yena Unnie, and Chaewon Unnie. Even now my memory stuck to the New Year party with Unnies in Jeju. I don’t remember what happened after the New Year party until the accident happened.”

The New Year party in Jeju that Wonyoung just mentioned was the New Year’s celebration when Yujin hadn’t joined Gallia yet.

“Honestly, I feel sorry for them. They are my Pillar. How can I forget the most important people in my life?” Wonyoung sighed, her expression turned grim.

Hearing what Wonyoung said made Yujin bite her lower lip and quietly took a deep breath. She made the right decision by not telling the truth to Wonyoung. Wonyoung would feel hurt and guilty if she found out there was a forgotten person in her memory.

Even so, it’s not easy for Yujin to accept the fact that she has never been in Wonyoung’s past. An Yujin, nothing more than the last pillar that Delta Team introduced to Wonyoung a month ago, at least that’s what Wonyoung knew. And Yujin… A few weeks interacting with Wonyoung really destroyed her slowly. They really started their relationship from the beginning. Quite awkward but comfortable enough to stay at the same room for hours. Yujin, who was too tired to fight their fate, decided to stop fighting and just goes with the flow. Wonyoung returned, alive, and Yujin had no other wish than to look after the second chance she was given.

“There is nothing interesting about them so it’s okay. At least now you have remembered their existences.” Yujin chuckled dryly.

“Not entirely, Unnie.” Wonyoung took a deep breath. “After the New Year party, I remember number of events, but all seemed to be blurred. I also don’t remember what accident happened to me.”

Yujin turned her head to Wonyoung when her car stopped at a red light. Wonyoung was seen staring out through the window. Staring at the rain that starting to wet the streets. From the side, Yujin could see the sad look of the younger girl, an expression that Yujin had memorized. Wonyoung always gave an expression like that every time she sends Yujin off for the mission given by The Elder. Wonyoung would hold her so tightly that Yujin has to persuade Wonyoung to let her go. Usually, Yujin would ruffle the younger girl’s hair, gently stroke her back, and tell her everything would be fine.

Remember that, Yujin reached out her hand to stroke Wonyoung’s back, but her movements stopped midway. Yujin took a deep breath and pulled her hand back.

“There are many reasons why or how it can happen.” Yujin’s words made Wonyoung turn her head. “There are things you better to forget because perhaps it would hurt you by remembering it. Maybe it was your self-protection to deal with the bad memories you don’t want to remember. You’ll be okay, Wonyoung-ah. Maybe that’s the way your subconscious works.”

“Do you think I will be okay knowing that there are so many things I have forgotten?! What if the opposite happens?! What if I forget something important and precious to me?! I don’t remember Unnies. I forgot my Pillar. They are important and precious! It is possible if I also forget other important things!” To her surprise, Wonyoung suddenly snapped at her.

Wonyoung looked emotional and busted when she said that. Her body tense with hands clenched tightly on her lap. Clearly, she was flustered and disturbed by what happened to her. Wonyoung had endured that for a long time because she didn’t want to burden her unnies with the problem. But in front of Yujin, for some reason Wonyoung was so easy to bring out her emotion.

Next to Wonyoung, Yujin could feel her heart squeezed seeing how painful it was in Wonyoung’s eyes. Yujin could only stare at the girl wordlessly. Hearing how Wonyoung’s voice filled with sorrow and looked frustrated with her condition affected Yujin’s mood.

Just like this…

The first rain of fall…

The time when their eyes meet in distrust, longing, and foreign feelings…

Yujin’s jaw hardened as she heard voices echoed in her ears.

Voices from the past.

Their voices.

“I’m happy to celebrate my birthday with you, Unnie. Your birthday exactly the day after my birthday! It’s like a destiny.”

“We are gonna be together, right? As we are gonna be together for a long time in the future. Happy birthday, Wonnie!”

“Jinnie-Jinnie.. My Dear Yujin.. Now, we’re same age…”

“Yah! I’m still your unnie!”

“Not until midnight, Yujinie.”

And then laughs. And smiles, with their arms around each other.

“Yujin Unnie, happy birthday. I will always love you. I’m glad Yujin Unnie made me laugh a lot. Thank you for always be by my side! Promise me, it’s going to be forever, right?”

“Yeah, I promise I’ll be by your side, forever. I can’t see myself without you. Because Wonyoungie was here, my heart felt safe.”

Yujin can feel the pain in her chest. She wanted to say something, but her throat tightened and her tongue stiffened. She tried hard to hold back her emotions. Restraining her own feelings to not to shout back and tell the younger girl what it feels to be in her position.

To be someone that forgotten by her precious one.

Yujin sighed in her seat. Even after all these years, Jang Wonyoung still able to be the one and only who could destroy her common sense, as it proven just now. Sitting next to Wonyoung, Yujin felt so weak and useless. But then she turned her face and saw Wonyoung’s lips trembled with tears in her eyes. She can see the younger girl had a hard time to control her sudden burst of emotion and stopping her hands from shaking on her lap. Yujin quickly pulled over the car to the curb and moved to engulf Wonyoung in her arms. She hugged her tightly without saying anything. But she hoped Wonyoung knew that she regretted making the younger girl upset because of her words. And Jang Wonyoung, who getting gentle treatment like that, can’t hold it anymore. Wonyoung didn’t know what happened but for this time, she let herself to cry. She tightened her arm around Yujin’s neck and buried her face in Yujin’s shoulder.

“I’m sorry. I’m so sorry for making you cry.” Yujin whispered in Wonyoung’s ear with one hand stroking the girl’s head. The habit she always did every time Wonyoung cried and heard Yujin’s voice, miraculously soothed Wonyoung’s heart. She felt calm and comfortable that she had never felt before. Something different and Wonyoung realized, this was the first time she had come this close to Yujin.

For a few moments only the sound of sobbing Wonyoung was heard in her car. Yujin still hugged her and rubbed Wonyoung’s back gently.

A few minutes later, Wonyoung’s expression softened when her gaze met with Yujin’s hazel eyes. Wonyoung took a deep breath and exhaled loudly. She tried to regulate her breathing and to control herself. Yelling and crying uncontrollably like this wasn’t something she normally did, especially to someone she just met for some times. But she felt so tired and didn’t have energy to pretend that she was okay like she usually did.

“I’m sorry, Unnie. I didn’t mean to yell at you. I–” Wonyoung closed her lips tightly. She lowered her head and fiddled her fingers on her lap. Nervous and guilt were obvious on her face, and Yujin felt bad. “I don’t understand what really happened to me. I feel like there is something… Something was off. I always felt like there is something, that I don’t know, but I must look for it. At first, I thought it was about finding my last Pillar, but it seems like it was something bigger than that but I don’t know anything… It’s so confusing. I’m scared and frustrated.”

Yujin’s fingers moved gently wiping the remaining tears on Wonyoung’s face. Glad to know after all this time, you are still crybaby, Wonnie.

“It’s okay. I understand. You don’t need to keep it to yourself. I’m here to listen to you. To be your ears, your trash bin, even your sandbag,” and of course, your safe haven. Yujin kept the last part to herself.

Wonyoung raised her head and found Yujin smiling softly at her.

“I know you must have kept it for so long. I’m sorry for not trying to understand your position and instead saying that forgetting is the best thing. I’m sucks, right?” Yujin back to her seat and stepped on the gas and directed her car to their college.

Wonyoung shook her head at Yujin’s words. “It’s not your fault. I’m the one who is too sensitive and whiny.”

Yujin chuckled.

“Find me if you get frustrated with your condition. Wait, scratch that, you don’t have to be frustrated first to look for me. Come to me whenever you need a friend to accompany you. I know all of this is not easy for you and you always try hard to hold all this alone because you don’t want Unnies to worry about you. That’s not good, Miss Jang. You’re a Ruler. Your health, your safety, and your happiness are the most important things that have to happen and making it happen is our job, The Pillar.”

Wonyoung smiled and took one hand of Yujin who was holding the steering wheel, holding it tightly.

“Thank you, Unnie.” Wonyoung caressed the back of Yujin’s hand with her thumb. “If we had met earlier, it would have been nice. The age gap between me and the unnies are quite far and it makes me feel uncomfortable if I keep whining at them. Now I have you to listen to my rambles. Yeay!”

And now Wonyoung was squealing happily and it makes Yujin laugh. The duality of Jang Wonyoung, Yujin thought. She squeezed Wonyoung’s hand gently and shook it. Wonyoung’s hand felt warm and fit in her grip, just like before. She felt a little disappointed when Wonyoung put her hand back on the steering wheel and reached for her tumbler.

“Unnie, what do you like more? Coffee, tea or milk?” Wonyoung asked enthusiastically as she opened the tumbler’s lid. Instantly the scent of coffee burst into the car and Yujin smiled. Wonyoung hasn’t changed. The girl still likes coffee. She remembered how Minjoo always scolded Wonyoung if she drank too much coffee.

“Hot chocolate and green tea ice cream,” Yujin answered with a smile until her dimples appeared.

Wonyoung stared at her before saying, “ah, no wonder.”

Yujin noticed the tone and without having to look at Wonyoung, she knew her facial expression also changed. “Why?”

“Hyewon Unnie bought a tub of green tea ice cream shortly after Chaewon Unnie called her. I thought Chaewon Unnie no longer likes mint-chocolate ice cream, but I know now that green tea ice cream must be for you. They really spoiled you, huh.”

Yujin grinned. “That’s an unspoken rule between us. Like a mandatory. They have to provide a lot of green tea ice cream in their apartment for me.” Yujin smiled when she realized unnies always remembered her favorite ice cream.

Hearing that, Wonyoung turned her body to Yujin.

“Unnie, can I be honest with you?”

“Sure.” Yujin answered without thinking.

“I’m jealous of you.”

“What?!” Yujin almost stepped on the brakes to hear Wonyoung’s confession. She patted her chest. Wonyoung’s confession surprised her.

“The last time I remember, unnies spoiled me a lot. I was the one and only maknae in Gallia. Their attention was always devoted to me. Don’t get me wrong, seeing how unnies cares for you makes me feel warm but also a little jealous at the same time. I shouldn’t have left Seoul too long.” Wonyoung chuckled. “But I can’t blame them. I was so far away when they met you and I think I know why they care so much for you. You’re part of The Pillar. The Pillar’s maknae, so I think it’s natural for them to behave like that to you.”

Yujin chuckled and shook her head. If only Wonyoung remembered how unnies treated her and always bothered her. Wonyoung was the only one who always defended Yujin every time their unnies ganging up to bothers her.

“Don’t be. They love you so much, Jang Wonyoung. You’re their forever maknae.”

Yujin tried hard to refrain herself from pinching Wonyoung’s cheeks who were frowning. She looked so cute at the moment. Instead, Yujin’s hand moved swiftly directing her car towards the Wonyoung faculty building located next to her faculty building.

Yujin stopped her car right in the lobby and turned her body to Wonyoung who still frowned.

“What are you thinking?”

“Are you going to pick me up this afternoon?” Wonyoung asked with puppy eyes which made Yujin stunned.

“Ah, I’m screwed if unnies finds out I made you cry on my first day to take you to college. Sorry, can you not tell them? Yena Unnie will pick you up. After class, I have a schedule for radio broadcasts.” Yujin smiled awkwardly when she found Wonyoung’s face disappointed.

“Do you have to do radio broadcasts every night?”

“No,” Yujin shook her head. “I only do it every Friday night.”

Wonyoung bit her lower lip, looks hesitant to say something.

“Mmmm Unnie… If you are not busy, can we go home together? I mean… You know… We live in the same direction and I don’t want to burden unnies who have to work in the morning.” Wonyoung rubbed her palms nervously. She chew her lower lip and made Yujin worry that the girl would hurt herself. “Well… I want to spend more time with you because you are one of my Pillars. Besides that, I heard we will live in the same place and if that really happens, I don’t mind waiting for you to go home if you really have a longer schedule than mine. And don’t worry, I won’t ask you to wait for me. You can go home first if my schedule is longer and–”

“Okay.”

“Eh?”

“I will go to college with you. We will go home together. Everyday.” Yujin smiled faintly. “I will ask Yena Unnie not to pick you up this afternoon.”

“Wait, no,” Wonyoung said quickly. She waved her hand, worried that Yujin would misunderstand her request. “I mean, we could do it when our schedules overlap, it doesn’t have to be everyday. I don’t want you to do it today because you feel it is your duty as my Pillar or you’re afraid I would tell unnies if you make me cry because that’s not your fault.”

Yujin only shook her head at the rambles. “Of course I don’t think it as an obligation or duty. I’m glad to do it for you. As you said before, we need to know and become closer with each other, right? Honestly I wanted to ask the same thing, but I’m afraid you would feel uncomfortable. It’s a relief that you ask me first.” Yujin grinned

“Thank you, Unnie.” Wonyoung opened the car door and looked down to stare at Yujin through the window. “I’ll be okay for today. I’ll go home with Yena Unnie. Fighting for your broadcast, Unnie.”

“Ah, before I forget,” Yujin opened the dashboard and pulled out a USB. “Last week, you said that you want to see my solo exhibition. This is the documentations.”

Wonyoung smiled broadly and thanked Yujin. She didn’t expect Yujin to remember and brought the documentation she asked last week. Yujin just laughed and nodded her head. Without closing the window, she started the car and left the faculty building.

“Isn’t that Yujin Noona?” A deep voice suddenly caught on in Wonyoung’s ear made Wonyoung jumped and swing her long arm in reflex to hit the figure who surprised her.

“Yah! Why are you so violent, Jang?” The tall figure in front of Wonyoung rubbed his arm that got hit by Wonyoung.

Wonyoung stepped away, ignoring the tall figure who was now walking following her. But soon Wonyoung’s steps stopped when a notification popped up on her phone. She opened the group chat and frowned because her class got canceled. The frowns on her forehead deepened when she realized the tall figure who had surprised her earlier was now in front of her. She sighed in annoyance but the young man in front of her chuckled with amusement.

“Why do you keep following me? Don’t you have class?” Wonyoung narrowed her eyes as the figure before her approached, narrowing the distance between them.

“Don’t you want to hug me? Don’t you miss me?” The young man’s hand opened for a hug. Despite her annoyed grunt, Wonyoung could not hide her smile and walked closer to hug the young man.

“Oh my God, I really miss you, Cous!” Wonyoung could feel the hug tightening. She could not help but laugh at the exaggeration of her cousin’s act. Wonyoung let go of the hug and looked up at her cousin. She poked the dimple on her cousin’s cheek and their gaze met.

“The last time we met, I still had the same height as you and look! Now I have to look up to see you.” Wonyoung’s hand stroked her cousin’s hair. “I miss you too, Dohyonie. How’s your life?” she asked calmly.

“Sucks.” Dohyon’s answer got another punch from Wonyoung.

“Language, Stupid!”

Dohyon just grinned childishly and cupped his hands on Wonyoung’s face. “Can we have lunch together later, Cous?”

“No, I want to go home because my class is canceled.” Wonyoung turned around and walk to the lobby.

“C’mon, Cous…” With wide steps he walked ahead of Wonyoung and stopped in front of the girl. Blocking her steps.

Wonyoung shook her head. “Next time, okay?”

“How about brunch? We have not met for five years! There are a lot of things I want to tell you. Now, you came back and dating Yujin Noona without telling me?! I can’t believe it! The Amethyst heartthrob finally found her love. Three years in this college I never see Yujin Noona dropping off someone. She rarely comes with her car and look! Elizabeth Victoria Jang, my picky and cocky little cousin who likes ghosting, suddenly got out of her car. Like HOW?”

“Yah! Shut up and watch your words! She is not my girlfriend and what, a little? I’m older than you!” Wonyoung noticed that several pairs of eyes around them immediately looked at them when they heard Dohyon mentioned Yujin’s name. And Wonyoung realized something, her cousin knew her Pillar. Wonyoung smiled. At least she can count on Dohyon to answer some of her questions.

“Brunch with me, Cous. Please?”

Dohyon smiled broadly as Wonyoung nodded her head.

***

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.