Hourglass (Chapter 2)

Title : Hourglass

Author : Navaya Gaia Chandra & Nuriiiin

Cast :

Kim Nayoung

Kim Sejeong

Shin Bora

Jung Mimi

Ki Heehyun

Jung Chaeyeon

Choi Yoojung

Kim Doyeon

Others

Genre : Drama, Romance, Thriller

Length : Series

Desclaimer:

This is just for fun.

Just a pure fiction story.

Imagination. Fantasy. Dream.

 

Copyright. ©Navaya – Nuriiiin. 2017. All right reserved

Please, don’t try to copy this story without prior written permission from the Authors.

Thanks 🙂

 

 

CHAPTER 2

Destiny

 

Please, pay attention to the time in every scenes..

We’ll write it back and forth..

***

 

Seoul, July 11th

“Bin-ah…” Chaeyeon put the magazine she had been reading on the table and stared at the girl who was busy with her laptop. Totally ignoring her existence that is more than an hour lying on a couch in a mini studio belonging to her bestie.

“Hmm…” Yebin’s muttering softly that made Chaeyeon sigh irritably.

“Don’t you miss me?” Chaeyeon can see one of Yebin’s eyebrows moves up when she asked.

“What’s wrong with you?” Yebin laughed at the childish question but still didn’t take her eyes off the laptop.

“Ya! Baek Yebin!!” Chaeyeon yelled, finally succeeded gaining Yebin’s attention. For the first time since Yebin opened the door for Chaeyeon some time ago.

“Wae? Wae? Wae?” Yebin responded irritably.

“Pay attention to me.” Chaeyeon scowled at the Yebin. With a pout, she motioned her hand to Yebin to come closer.

“This is what happens when you keep being spoiled and people always give you what you want. You’re so damn annoying, Ms. Craving Attention.” Yebin sighs before getting up from her chair and approaching Chaeyeon who has changed her position sitting on the couch. She sit next to Chaeyeon who smiles broadly at her. Chaeyeon immediately wrapped her hand around Yebin’s neck and hug her tightly.

“Yebin-ah.. I miss you!” Chaeyeon grabbed Yebin’s head before kissing the small girl’s face.

“Ya! Jung Chaeyeon!” Yebin tried to free herself from Chaeyeon but failed. However Chaeyeon’s posture is bigger and makes it difficult for her to move. She let Chaeyeon continue to kiss and hug her.

“How’s your concert?” Chaeyeon asked before release her dan returning to sit. Smiling at the Yebin who trying to breathe again.

“Well done… I guess?” Yebin answered uncertainly before gazing strangely at her best friend. “How’s your cases? Still sucks?” She asked with a mocking tone.

“Always. I’m working until my butt getting hurt.” Chaeyeon’s words made Yebin laugh.

“Stupid.”

“I’m not!” Chaeyeon shakes her head. “Just so you know, Minky and I got promotion to join on several senior lawyer projects to handle the case in the Government.”

“Ew, that’s sucks. Very sucks!” Chaeyeon’s eyebrows almost linked to the reaction of Yebin. “Sweetie, nothing is fun when you have to deal with the Government.”

“I know…”

Chaeyeon agreed immediately and made Yebin rolling her eyes. Chaeyeon’s reaction was too easy for her to read. There’s something else with her best friend and it made Yebin inquisitive.

“And you still decided to join this project?”

“Of course!” Chaeyeon answered quickly. “Being in this team and handling the Government cases will be a plus to my portfolio as well as my future career.”

“Anything else other than that?” Yebin hold her head with her hand and leaning on the couch arm.

“Mmm…” Chaeyeon looks doubtful. “I went to the bar when I was in Okinawa, Bin-ah.”

Random.

Of course she knows her best friend will going to the bar. Chaeyeon is married with alcohol, after all. And as if understanding Yebin’s expression, Chaeyeon continued.

“It can be said as the meeting with senior lawyers. An introduction. As a maknae in this team of course, I had to come.”

“Hmm…” Yebin nodded her head and gestured her friend to keep talking. She reached for the drinking bottle on the table and take a sip. “So?”

“So?” Chaeyeon asked back with a blank face.

“Did you meet someone who made you excited like this?”

Shoot!

Yebin asked while holding back her smile. That’s make Chaeyeon take a deep breath. Her best friend knew her very well.

“I did.”

“Woaahhh.. Interesting. Is she or he?”

“She.” Chaeyeon sighed. “But I think she likes another woman.”

“Poor my Chae..” Yebin pursed her lips and rubbed Chaeyeon’s head. “It must be annoying because you have to see it at every meeting.”

“Aniyo. She’s not a lawyer. She’s not part of the team.”

“Whut?” Yebin looks confused. “Did you get to know her or talk or spending time together?”

Chaeyeon shook her head.

“I watched her from a far. Actually, she’s a friend of Jieqiong’s friend. Well, we met before that, through Jieqiong, but… We didn’t talk or anything, just like that.”

“What makes you interested in her?”

Chaeyeon took a deep breath.

“She looks cold, intimidating. Distant. But she also seemed warm and adorable when interacting with her peers. Cute. And this is the most important, Bin-ah.” Chaeyeon looked excited.

“What?” Yebin leaned with curiosity.

“I was attracted to her because she didn’t look interested to me!” Chaeyeon nearly shouted as she said that. This time Yebin couldn’t hold herself. She laughed loudly until her face flushed.

“This is weird. Jung Chaeyeon is weirdo.” Yebin shook his head.

“And you know what?” Chaeyeon questioned with an expression that made Yebin try hard to keep from laughing.

“What?” For the umpteenth time Yebin asked the same thing.

“I think you know her, Bin-ah. Maybe you know her so well?”

“Who?” Yebin smiled cheeky. “Choi Yuna?”

“Ya! We were over a long time ago, Stupid!”

 

***

 

Seoul, August 6th

“I miss you.” Hana tightened her arms around Mimi’s neck with her face buried in Mimi’s shoulder. She could hear Mimi’s laughter before feeling a soft pat on her back. She closed her eyes for a moment without letting go of her hug. Being in her fiancee’s embrace was the best thing after more than five hours in the operating room.

“I left you for three days and see what you look like now? Sticking so closely like a koala.” Mimi kissed Hana’s head and tightened her arms. “Those who are outside this room would not think if Dr. Shin who so famous with the cold expression would become so soft and adorable when she’s with me.”

“You’re a jerk.” Hana suddenly took off her embrace and looked at Mimi with a pout.

“Wae?” Mimi asked with an innocence look. Her right hand moves to tidy Hana’s messy hair and tuck it behind her ear. She pulled Hana’s hand to sit on the couch and stared at her with a warm smile.

“You didn’t tell me earlier that you were going to Taiwan when you were with me the night before you go. You disappeared for days and you did not tell me that you’d be back today.” Hana began to sulk.

“I’m so sorry, Babe. The notice was so sudden that I don’t have time to tell you, Bora-ya.” Mimi pulled Hana in her arms. Hugged and kissed Hana’s head repeatedly. Unlike Hana who can express her feelings verbally, it’s easier for Mimi to show her feels through her acts. It’s rare for Mimi to say something romantic but Hana knows that Mimi has her own way to show her love.

“Don’t be mad. I really miss you. I came here right after I landed for you.” Mimi gave her a smile. She understands what makes her girlfriend upset. “I don’t want you to feel you’re not my priority when I’m still hectic with my job. I’m not multitasking like you, Babe. I find so hard to focus on anything you wrote if we’re keep texting when I’m working. I have short term memory and I’m afraid I’ll forget about your story if I simply called you and continue working. I don’t want to skip anything what you say so I prefer to see you in person. Everything about you is important. That’s why I choose not to call you until I finish my job. I’ll make up to you, Babe. I promise.”

Hana nodded in understanding. She knows who her lover is. Mimi who doesn’t like the rules and loves freedom must accept her destiny to be a CEO of an International company. That’s not an easy thing. When her friends still have fun with their youth, Mimi already holds a big responsibility on her family company. Before their relationship happened, Mimi’s workspace in the office was her home. Working 24/7 is not something new to Mimi. But since Hana entered the life of Mimi as her fiancee, Hana slowly changed Mimi’s bad habits.

Yes, it is not easy for them to start a new relationship if they remember what they were before.

Friendship is a strange relationship considering what the nature of both is. Hana is a princess-like figure with a near-flawless life. Raised as the successor from one of the famous family who recognized with many achievements and active in social activities make her grow into a figure with high awareness and become role models for friends of her age. Totally different from Mimi who has been known as a troublemaker since childhood and a figure who doesn’t care about her surroundings. If it were not for their parents who introducing both of them, maybe they’re never be a friends for a long time. And once again, the friendship of their parents changed their destiny.

The engagement.

It is not easy for them to accept the engagement that their parents want. Although they have been friends since childhood, became fiancée to each other is different thing. And they admit, the engagement almost destroyed their friendships for years.

“Hey,” Hana snapped from her daze as Mimi called her. “What can I do to make you feel better?” She asked with the finger that didn’t stop rubbing the back of Hana’s palm.

“Kiss… me?” Hana replaced her annoyed expression with a smile that Mimi could not resist.

Without being asked twice, Mimi’s lips met Hana’s with a chaste kiss. Mimi could feel Hana’s smile before Hana kissed her back. Mimi’s lips sucked her bottom lips, gently bit Hana’s lips. Hana’s arm moves to pulled Mimi’s head to deepen their kisses. Her lips just opened and they are about to move on to the next stage before a voice with an annoyed tone made her let go of Mimi’s body.

“Jinjja.. Unniedeul, this is already the umpteenth time I became a loyal audience in your movie. Can you be kind to me? I’m still single and innocent here.” A figure with a mischievous smile made Mimi groan with annoyance.

“Ya! Why do you always get in when I and Bora- hissshhh jinjja.. I hate you, Sharon Kim!”

“My pleasure, Michelle Jung.” The girl chuckled. She scratched her head as her eyes met Hana’s eyes. Actually looks awkward because for the umpteenth time she interrupted the hot session from her senior. “Mianhae, Unnie. I knocked the door several times but I didn’t hear any answer. I thought you were asleep after surgery. I meant to wake you up because we have meeting with the shareholders in an hour,” she began blabbering unconsciously, “and I know you haven’t had lunch yet. So-”

“I understand. You don’t have to feeling guilty because I’m obviously wrong in this case.” Hana interrupted with an amused smile. The girl in front of her kept talking nonstop and she had to resist the urge to laugh at her.

Kim Sejeong, or commonly known as Sharon Kim, is the daughter of the owner of the hospital, well-known as the charismatic and perfect figure who loved by people around her. Being a surgeon at a very young age, she is known by ‘God Sharon’, the nickname she got for her highly dependable abilities in the operating room. But in the presence of Hana, Sharon Kim is like a little girl who needs a sister figure and Hana always fill that position for her. One thing that sometimes makes Mimi jealous considering how close Hana and the three years younger girl is.

“Okay then. I’ll go now.” She waved awkwardly. Move quickly in her position to open the door.

“Come and have lunch with us, Dear.”

She stopped the movement of her hand that would turn the doorknob and stared at her Unnies with pursed lips.

“I don’t want to be a third wheel and go back to watching your lovey-dovey, lovebirds.”

Mimi laughed and walked over to Sejeong. Gently embrace the girl’s shoulder.

“Poor, Sejeongie.” Mimi stroked the girl’s head. “Unnie promises not to do naughty things when you’re with us.” Mimi held up her pinky finger with sweet smile.

Sejeong looked at Mimi suspiciously. “Since when did you become like this? You’re usually very annoyed if I interrupt your date with Hana Unnie.” The suspicious look made Mimi widen her smile.

“Because I can’t bear to see my single and innocent dongsaeng sitting alone at the table and spending her lunch with no one to accompany. You’ll look miserable, Sejeong-ah.” Mimi’s back to her usual annoying character. She took off her hug and faced Sejeong, grinning. “I’m afraid you’ll be prey by the assholes because of that-”

“Unnie!! I’m not a kid!” Sejeong sighs in disgust as Mimi walks away with her awful laugh. “Ya! Jung Mimi! “

Hana laughed at both of them. She gently pats Sejeong’s head before embracing the girl to follow Mimi who had already walked to the café where they used to have lunch together.

 

***

 

Hongkong, August 7th

Nayoung groaned at the sound of her phone ringing. Her hands roaming around to find her phone and she sighs as realized she put her phone on her night stand before asleep. She rolled her body to the edge and groaned as her tired body was forced to change position. She reached for her phone without seeing who was calling and frowned at the familiar voice greeting her.

“Good morning, Miss Kim. Mr. Kim asked me to contact you to let you know that he wants you to come to the Orion this afternoon.”

Nayoung closed her eyes for a moment and exhaled vigorously.

“I’m not in Seoul. Just tell me what he wants.”

“He wants you to meet him at the Orion and I am now waiting for you in your hotel lobby.”

“WHAT?!” Nayoung almost yelled and groaned as she felt the dizziness in her head. She glanced at the clock on the wall and sighed again. She just finished the meeting with the stockholders at three o’clock in the morning and this call just woke her up before seven o’clock.

“Mr. Kim asked me to pick you up with his private plane and I hope you can immediately get ready because-”

“Let me sleep.” Nayoung interrupts with cold tone.

“But-”

“Tell him that I had just finished a meeting with his business partner at three o’clock this morning, and now I need some sleep. I have to continue my project meeting with Government later. I’ll meet him after that. “

“Nayoung-ah.. The sooner you come, the sooner you know what you have to finish.”

Nayoung bit her lower lip when she hear the voice over the phone calling her name. She knew, the figure on the other side of the phone was someone who had great respect for a protocol. Twenty-five years he worked as the right hand of her father, and if he had to call her name without the honorific that he usually did, Nayoung knew she is in big trouble.

“Fine, Uncle Kang. Give me an hour to get ready,” she said before turning off the connection.

She frowned at the number of chats and miscalls from her friends. Her fingers moved quickly as her eyes widened open as she read every chat she had been ignored since yesterday. Within seconds her sleepiness gone when she realized what was going on. Without wasting time she walked quickly to the bathroom.

Damn it! You’re so stupid, Kim Nayoung!

 

***

 

Seoul, August 7th

“Did not I ever tell you not to do striking things?”

Nayoung rubbed her forehead as she looked at some photos at the table. The photos of her vacation in Okinawa last month. The photos when she were partying at the bar. Though only at a glance, her gaze was fixed on a photo she knew was the reason why her father asked to meet her this afternoon.

“Who is she? Your lover? “

Nayoung shook her head.

A friend?”

“You can say that.”

“You know where she comes from? Who’s her family? What-”

“Aboji.. We met at the bar and-” Nayoung sighed. Realizing there is no point in giving an explanation. “That’s not important, Aboji.”

“Have you checked the files that the Secretary Kang sent you two months ago? I asked you to take your prospective fiancee and this is what I got.” Her father’s statement and her obvious mistakes makes Nayoung cursed her foolishness. Her father didn’t stopped to knock on the table just above a photo that made Nayoung close her lips. Tightly.

Damn you, alcohol!

Yes, if only she could go back in time. But it happened anyway and now she know she must be responsible for what she did.

She bowed her head as her father got up and walked to the corner of the room. Poured wine on his glass and looked at Nayoung who didn’t move from her place.

“Have you seen the news this morning?”

“Ne, Aboji. My engagement. “

“Paparazzi threatened to release the pictures as your scandal. I’m trying to turn things around by issuing news about your engagement first before they get the news out about your scandal. I assume you already know how you should be responsible if you check what happened to Orion’s stock this morning. I didn’t expect public to be interested. But yeah, they took the bait. I don’t like what you do but you did a good job, Dear.”

The last sentence of her father made Nayoung raised her head with a look of surprise.

“I will arrange the date of your engagement and a meeting with your soon-to-be fiancee. I hope you’ll no longer do stupid things and can build your relationship wisely.” Her father walks up to his desk, a sign that Nayoung knows it’s time to leave. She got up but not moving out of her place. She wet her lower lip and dared herself to ask.

“Before I go at least let me know who’s my fiancée?”

Her father didn’t answer and only showed a gesture that made Nayoung stared at him in disbelief.

 

***

 

Seoul, August 7th

Hana opened the door of the apartment and found a tall girl with a messy black jet hair standing with tired expression. Without saying anything, the girl came in and hugged Hana tightly. Kissing Hana’s cheek before taking off her shoes and continuing her steps to the living room,

“Bora-ya, who’s com- Ahhh Kim Nayoung.” Mimi seems uninterested and focuses herself on the TV show in front of her.

“Unnie, annyeong.” Nayoung leaned forward to kiss Mimi’s forehead. Afterwards, she laid herself on the couch with her head in Mimi’s lap, makes Mimi startled.

“Ya! Bora-” Mimi’s words stopped as Hana’s hand rub her shoulders. She nodded understandingly and gestured the girl to let Nayoung lies on her lap.

“Just ten minutes, Unnie. I’m really tired.” Nayoung grabs Mimi’s hand and hugs her.

Hana and Mimi shared a glance. Finally understood Nayoung’s strange behavior.

“You can sleep in the room if you’re tired.”

Usually Mimi would scolded Nayoung and provoke a fight. But this time the girl showed the opposite behaviour. She talked to Nayoung with a gentle tone. Her hand rubbing Nayoung’s head with affectionate. The gesture that she usually did only to Hana.

“I won’t stay long. Ongie is on his way to pick me up. After this I still have a meeting, Unnie.” Nayoung answered without opening her eyes. Shortly, her face looked relaxed with a regular breath that indicated she was asleep.

“Bora-ya, Naong-” Mimi’s words stopped as Hana pecked her lips.

“It’s okay, Babe. Let her rest. If she have meeting with Seongwoo, probably related to Hourglass.” Hana turned and walked to the pantry.

“Babe, can you check on her? She has a fever.”

Hana stopped her steps and came back. She sighed as her palms touched Nayoung’s forehead.

“You have to do something before Seongwoo comes. Nayoung would awake all night if she had started meeting this evening.”

Hana looked at her lover. Intense.

Before she finally realized what Mimi’s meant. She chuckled and turned her head down to kiss her lover’s lips.

“What happened to you? Usually you’re always being a nuisance to Naong.” Hana cupped her palms on Mimi’s face and squeezed them gently.

Mimi took a deep breath. “I feel bad for her.”

“Because of the news this morning?”

Mimi nodded.

“After she finished her project with me, she immediately went on with other projects. But it turns out the project that she was working got into trouble. That’s why lately she often traveled overseas and work through the night. I’m glad that Ong, Sojin, Xiening, and Kyungwon always be her side. They’re a great team. They can lean to each other. However working with the Government is not an easy task. To be honest, The Blues is a dangerous project.”

Mimi shook her head.

“I don’t know what will Nayoung’s response about the news. But the media and public response are remarkable. Her father’s company shares increased in an instant after rumors about the engagement were announced. It just rumors after all.”

Hana sighed. “I think Nayoung will do something so she could be free from this. But we all know that she will never can be escape. I warned her about this but I think she’s still stubborn so this is what happened.”

Mimi looked up and found Hana’s serious expression.

“What are you thinking?” Mimi squeezed her palm softly.

“I don’t think this is a rumor. If you see an enthusiastic public response and rising stocks, I think Uncle Kim is really going to match Naong with someone. He just tested a water, public takes his bait, and he got the answer. Now, it’s depend to his decision.”

So, is there someone who comes across your mind?”

Hana smiled weakly and nodded her head.

“I have three names and one of them is your sister, Babe.”

 

***

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.