Cherry Blossom (Chapter 2)

Title : Cherry Blossom

Author : Navaya Gaia Chandra & Nuriiiin

Cast :

Shin Bora

Jung Mimi

Others

Genre : Drama, Romance, Thriller

Length : Series

Desclaimer:

This is just for fun.

Just a pure fiction story.

Imagination. Fantasy. Dream.

 

Copyright. ©Navaya – Nuriiiin. 2018. All right reserved

Please, don’t try to copy this story without prior written permission from the Authors.

Thanks 🙂

CHAPTER 2

– Separated –

 

2012

California

Mimi kicked the tire in annoyance. Of course her car decided to get a flat tire on her way to the campus, specifically on her first day on her college life. In addition to her bad luck, no one’s around to help her. Guess she has to fix it by herself.

She opened the trunk and get the equipment box. Just when she was about to lift the spare tire, a hand held hers and took the tire away from her.

“A young lady aren’t supposed to change a flat tire by themselves. You should call for help, Mimi-ya,” said the person beside her and started changing the tire.

Surprised with the sudden appearance, especially he is the person she knows so well, Mimi frowned at Hongbin who crouched down beside her.

“A young lady? Really?”

She heard the man scoffed. “Yes, Miss The-Future-CEO-of-The-Arrows-Company, surprise I know about it?”

“My sister is still the CEO of our company, don’t talk as if I will hold the position in the near future.”

“I said the future, not in the near future,” Hongbin replied dryly. “Anyway, I’m aware that you are capable of changing your own tire, Hana told me that, but I don’t think looking messy at your first day is a good idea,” he said, standing up after finished changing the tire. He looked at Mimi. “Next time, call for help, okay? You’re the Korean’s pride, aren’t you?”

Ignoring everything else Hongbin said, Mimi brightly grinned, “Hana told you I can change a car tire? What else she told you about me, huh?”

“Ask her yourself,” Hongbin rolled eyes. He put the equipment back to its place on the box. “Done.”

“Thank you,” Mimi took the box from Hongbin and put it back in the back of her car, along with the old tire. “I didn’t know you were so nice.”

“Did Hana ever told you about me?”

It took Mimi for a while to answer it. “Maybe, maybe not, I don’t remember.”

Or you just purposely closed your ears from anything Hana said about me, Hongbin thought, but even he doubt that Hana would talked about himself to Mimi. “She never stops talking about you, actually.”

“Really?” Mimi looked surprised. “Why is it?”

“As if I knew why,” the man shrugged. Of course you are so oblivious. Well, you are even oblivious about your own feeling, Jung Mimi. “Now, your car is fixed. You owe me a lunch.”

“Okay, okay, just tell me what you want for lunch,” Mimi said and about to get in to her car when Hongbin extended his hand. She looked at him, confused. “What?”

“Give me your phone.”

“What? What for?”

Hongbin’s eye-roll answered her. “Just give me. I swear I’m not gonna destroy it or anything.”

Still eyeing him suspiciously, Mimi took her phone and give it to Hongbin. She watched as the man input some unknown numbers on the screen and soon they heard a ringtone from Hongbin’s pocket jacket.

Hongbin returned the phone back to Mimi. “Save my number.”

Mimi looked at him with wide eyes. “What– Is that how men asking for exchange numbers now?”

She earned a hit on her arm.

“Why you keeps asking stupid question to me?” Hongbin said flatly. “How are you gonna treat me lunch if we didn’t know each other’s number?”

“You don’t have to hit me, I thought you were the Mr. Gentleman earlier.” Mimi rubbed the side where Hongbin hit her arm.

“Get used to it because we are going to be friends after this, Jung.”

Mimi remembered that they agreed to be friend on their graduation day. Well, it will take some times to get used. “Give me time, okay?”

“And I gave you my number so you can contact me if something like this happens again,” Hongbin continued, ignoring what Mimi said. “Friends supposed to help and support each other, you know that, right? You are my only friend in this country.”

Mimi laughed at that.

“I guess I need to get used with seeing your face as soon as possible.”

Hongbin gave her another scoff but he smiled nonetheless. He walked to his car not too far from Mimi’s. “Yeah, and we need to go to the campus as soon as possible if we don’t want to get late. See you later, Jung.”

And that successfully reminded Mimi that she needs to go too. She hurriedly hopped in the car and drove, her smile never leave her face.

 

**

 

Tokyo

< Jung Mimi > I’m bored

< Shin Bora > It took you more than 12 hours to reply my text and you did it when you’re bored. Okay…

< Jung Mimi > I told you yesterday I had deadline for my assignment, didn’t I?

< Shin Bora > But you promised me…

< Jung Mimi > Okay, I’m sorry… Everything was really hectic yesterday

< Jung Mimi > Don’t pout

< Shin Bora > I didn’t!

< Shin Bora > And why are you saying I’m pouting? You can’t see me, can you?

< Jung Mimi > I just feel like you are pouting and I don’t want that

< Shin Bora > What, you don’t like it?

< Jung Mimi > I don’t like it when I can’t see it in person… I wanna pinch your cheeks

 

Hana didn’t resist the urge to smile as she read the text. Mimi keep acting like this ever since they went to study in different countries. It’s a nice surprise to see Mimi being more expressive in text, sometimes she thought that Mimi probably missed her, just like how Hana misses her too.

Maybe, just maybe.

 

< Shin Bora > My cheeks isn’t for you to play with

< Shin Bora > And I’m not pouting!

< Jung Mimi > Okay okay I trust you

< Jung Mimi > Just so you know you are too cute when you are pouting

< Jung Mimi > Are you blushing right now?

< Jung Mimi > I know you like my compliment

< Jung Mimi > Bora?

< Jung Mimi > Heyyyy

< Jung Mimi > Don’t ignore my chaaaat

< Shin Bora > Don’t you have class now?

< Jung Mimi > I do

< Jung Mimi > And it’s boring

< Shin Bora > Jung Mimi…

< Jung Mimi > I tried to stay awake by chatting you

< Jung Mimi > So, entertain me please

< Shin Bora > it’s past midnight in my place!

 

**

 

California

“Can you change it to be more minimalist and modern huh? This is too old fashion, Mimi-ya.”

Mimi glared at Hongbin’s comments. How dare Hongbin said that after she stayed up last night to make the mock-up building for their assignment?

“Are you saying your minimalist concept is better than mine? Yah! My concept has more detail and complexity that you don’t have and I don’t need your opinion,” Mimi argued coldly.

Bomi and Eunji looked up at from the mock-up building they were trying to fix to see Mimi and Hongbin. It’s still early on the morning and Mimi and Hongbin already on their usual fight.

“It’s minimalist! It means simple but classy!” explained Hongbin, not affected with the death glare.

“Classy? Do you think you can get Pritzker if you always use the same concept over and over again?!”

“And do you think you get it with your favorite concept?! Look at how messy it is! Too many unnecessary details on it!”

Bomi quickly stood up between them before Mimi threw another reply, or a punch. “Mimi’s mock-up isn’t finished yet, Hongbin-ah, we still need to fix some parts. But you have to see the details Mimi put on it, it is amazing.”

“But Hongbin’s suggestion isn’t bad too,” Eunji followed. “Maybe we should erase some parts? I promise we’re not gonna ruin the building, Mimi-ya,” she lifted her hands when Mimi’s glare shifted at her. “We all here have different taste, Hongbin with modern and minimalist glass, Bomi likes Mediterranean style, Mimi likes Classic and Victorian style, while I prefer the Country and American Craftsman style. Imagine how awesome it is if we work as one team in the future, we gonna invent an awesome concept.” She grinned as she looked at her friends.

“Or the team not gonna even last a day, because we probably would fight each other while deciding the concept,” Bomi laughed when Eunji pouted. “Kidding, I agree with you. I think we will make a wonderful team,” she said as she hugged her friend, shaking her body and making Eunji whined at her. Hongbin and Mimi chuckled at their act, momentarily forgetting their bicker.

Mimi smiled at Bomi and Eunji who still hugging and laughing. She met them on her first day and getting close with them as days passing. They told her that they has been friends since middle school and continue to stay together till now, as they pursue the same dream. One thing that makes Mimi jealous at them because she can’t do the same with her own best friend.

Sometimes she wishes Hana was here and not some country with different time zone with her. It’s nice meeting with Bomi and Eunji (sometimes she purposely forgets that Hongbin exists) here, and after one semester, all of them becomes good friends now and she’s not lonely anymore, but her heart still longing for her best friend.

 

**

 

< Shin Bora > So how’s your day?

< Jung Mimi > Do you think I can survive till graduation with Hongbin is everywhere with me

< Shin Bora > Well he said he wants to be friends with you…

< Shin Bora > Is everything okay?

< Jung Mimi > Life is so hard

< Jung Mimi > Harder with having Hongbin around me

< Jung Mimi > He is annoying

< Shin Bora > ???

< Jung Mimi > I repeat, he is annoying

< Jung Mimi > I didn’t know what you see on him back then

< Shin Bora > Hey he’s nice

< Shin Bora > What happened?

< Jung Mimi > He acts all cool and knows all the stuff. He always scold me like a grandma.

< Jung Mimi > Annoying

< Shin Bora > Well I can’t help you with that

< Shin Bora > gtg I have class

< Shin Bora > I’ll chat you later

< Jung Mimi > Yeah yeah I’m going to sleep tho

< Jung Mimi > Anyway Hongbin is annoying

 

“I miss you, Stupid,” Mimi said to her phone, watching as Hana went offline. The longing feeling back whenever they had to stop chatting.

She hugged her pillow and pulled the blanket, trying to close her eyes. It’s always like this, the different time zone and the busy schedule makes them unable to chat for too long and it irritates Mimi. She didn’t want to appear too clingy to Hana, knowing how busy her best friend is, but most of the times she can’t help it.

Sometimes, only sometimes, she would imagined that Hana would missed her too.

 

**

 

Tokyo

“Ow! Gentle, please! That’s sting!”

Hana rolled eyes, but she ignored the whine and keep dabbing the cotton onto the face in front of her.

“Ouch! Yah! Shin Bora!”

“Can’t you shut up and stop moving?” She finally lost her patience after a while. “Kim Wonsik, I tried to clean up your wound here, but I can’t do it if you keep moving.”

The guy in front of her, Wonsik, glared back at her. “Can you be any gentle? I told you it hurts.”

“You are fine with getting punches so you should be fine too with a bit of alcohol. Stay still, you grown up man.”

Wonsik didn’t say anything, he bit his lips as Hana continued cleaning the wound on his face.

“Stop scolding him, he got into a fight for defending me and Jiyeon, Hana-ya,” said their other friend who sat next to them, Jieun.

“That’s true!” Wonsik beamed and high-fived with Jieun. “See, I’m the good person here so you should be more gent– OW!”

“I’m against any violence stuff, Mr. Kim, so shut up and stay still,” said Hana, still dabbing the cotton bud on Wonsik’s face before wiped it carefully. “Kyungsoo can do it better than you, you know.”

Wonsik scoffed. “Kyungsoo won’t lift a hand in this kind of matter. He would paid someone else to beat them up instead of doing it by himself, although he has a level 3 black belt. He is a boring person, in case you didn’t know.”

“Well, Kyungsoo probably would killed them if he was there, so it is better to hire someone else,” Hana shook her head. “Meanwhile, if you involved with such a fight, it could affect your reputation. You can’t be a doctor like that.”

“Who I said I want to be doctor, huh?” Wonsik smirked while shaking his glass. “I will obey my parent but it doesn’t mean I will do everything they want.”

“What do you mean?” Hana raised an eyebrow.

“He doesn’t intend to be a surgeon and will throw away all his responsibilities to his cousin,” said Kyungsoo suddenly appeared beside them and ordered his drink from the bartender. “Poor girl, had to deal with Wonsik’s crazy idea while she’s still in school.”

“Hey, don’t say it like that, our deal is sharing the responsibilities, I didn’t throw all of it away to her,” Wonsik argued. “I will take care the hospital in Tokyo, but becoming the surgeon is a no for me… Sejeong can do it on my behalf. After all, this hospital belongs to our family, I can’t be the only one who take care of it, right?”

Kyungsoo stared at him for a few second before turning away. “Can’t help but pitying Sejeong’s fate to be your cousin,” he sipped his drink, sighing helplessly about his friend.

“You are the one who said that I had to make that deal with Sejeong!”

“I was just suggesting, I didn’t expect you to uh, force her… Lucky you Sejeong is a nice girl.”

“At least I have one person who is nice to me, while you guys are so boring,” Wonsik threw one of the cotton to Kyungsoo. “I miss Yoongi at times like this.”

Kyungsoo dodged the cotton without looking. “Yoongi would do the same with me, he would never defend you if you make trouble again.”

“I need a break from those piles of medical journal I had to read, okay? Give me a break.”

“And this is why I said you are wasting your time here, studying something you don’t want to,” Kyungsoo gestured the bartender to refill his drink. “Before it’s too late, tell your parent what you really want to do.”

“And they are gonna disown me in instant.”

“And you perfectly know that I will pick you up on the street if your parent kick you out. Stop being dramatic,” Kyungsoo replied flatly. “And there’s Sejeong too, she will helps you too, although you don’t deserve her kindness.”

“Aren’t they funny?” Jieun’s chuckles making Hana shifted her focus from the two men. “Kyungsoo knew Wonsik wanted to be a composer and DJ but his parent against it because they want him to take care of their hospital business. Since middle school, Kyungsoo and Yoongi always supported Wonsik that they were even willing to cover for him whenever Wonsik joined any DJ competition or performance contest.”

“Where is Yoongi now?” Hana asked.

“He is currently continue his study in California, leaving these two here like this,” Jieun pointed at Kyungsoo and Wonsik who still argued. “Yoongi used to be the mediator between them, you know, he knows how to deal with these two stubborn head.”

Hana stared at the two guys beside her. “But all of us know that Kyungsoo actually cares about Wonsik, although his face won’t ever show it. Guys are like this, huh?”

Jieun laughed again, agreeing with Hana. “I know, they look cute.”

“Anyway, who is Sejeong? I never heard about her,” Hana asked as she sipped her own drink. Through Wonsik who she met as they study in the same major, Hana got to know Kyungsoo, Jieun, and Jiyeon. Unlike Hana who had just returned to Tokyo, all of them were born and raised in the city.

“Wonsik’s cousin,” Jieun answered. “She’s still at school so there’s no way I can bring her to bar like this. Maybe next time? She’s really nice, I’m sure you’ll like her.”

“I would be happy to know her,” Hana nodded and took a sip of beer in her hand. She looked at Kyungsoo and Wonsik, and seeing them makes her missing her best friend.

She glanced at her phone and just in time to see a new message coming. Hana smiled, it’s like she shared a telepathy with the person.

 

< Jung Mimi > Can we do a video call?

< Shin Bora > Is everything okay?

< Jung Mimi > Yeah, I just had a bad day…

< Shin Bora > Okay, give me a minute

 

***

 

2013

California

“Congratulation, Lee. The match was very entertaining. Nice play.” Mimi’s hand stroked out rough scrubbing Hongbin’s hair.

“Thank you for coming.” With wide grin, Hongbin intentionally hugged Mimi, knowing the latter didn’t like it a bit.

“Yah!! Don’t hug me you are sweating!!!” Mimi shrieked and tried to escape Hongbin’s arms.

Hongbin laughed but let go of the girl. He sat next to Mimi and handed the girl a soft drink. “Thanks for coming, by the way. I know it must be hard for you to leave your bed but you still come to see me.”

“Well, glad you won the match so I didn’t sacrifice my sleep for nothing,” Mimi handed back the can to Hongbin. Without saying anything, Hongbin knew that Mimi asked him to open the lid of the can, as usual.

Hongbin chuckled at Mimi’s words. One year have been passed since they moved to California. Along with too many awkward moment and bickering here and there, Mimi and Hongbin actually managed to stay as friend (at the very least, they didn’t try to kill each other). Hongbin the model student, always being the diligent and serious one, had to deal with Mimi’s carefree attitude. Mimi is good with her studies, but she needs Hongbin to make sure all her assignment finished and to be submitted on time. On the other hand, Mimi helped Hongbin to have fun amidst the stress of their college life.

“You never watch any of my match at the school, though,” Hongbin spoke as he opened the can to Mimi.

“What am I, you girlfriend?” Mimi accepted the can and drink it.

“You wish.”

“Not even in my dream, Lee. I’m busy person, duh, why would I go to your match?”

“Busy with what?” Hongbin scoffed. “Busy sleeping?”

Mimi hit his arm. “I fell asleep after working for my assignment and study all night!”

“Yes, and mind you we have the same assignment to do, but you don’t see me sleeping for the whole day after submitting the assignment.”

“And that’s because you joined this club. Not my fault you can’t sleep the whole day like me.”

“Why do you sound so proud of it?” Hongbin scoffed. “I’m surprised you didn’t date anyone here, not interested with Californian girls?”

Mimi looked around, and saw some of their classmates and senior. She didn’t deny that they were all so pretty. “Nah, not my type.” Mimi drink her can again. “Anyway, I need to graduate from this place as soon as possible so I can go back to Seoul and quickly help Sooyeon Unnie.”

Hongbin looked surprise at that. “I thought you were going to take care your father’s company at Tokyo?”

“That, too, maybe in the future, who knows?” Mimi smiled, “Appa and Taekwoon Oppa are focused with our business in Europe so I will help Sooyeon Unnie taking care of the business in Asia. It will be great, don’t you think?”

Hongbin smiled at the enthusiastic expression beside him. “Yeah, I’m sure it will be great. Sooyeon Noona at the Seoul while you take care the branch office in Tokyo.” And you will be with Hana again, Hongbin thought to himself. “And just so you know, whenever you need me, now or in the future, I will definitely come to help you.”

The encouraging and sincere words surprised Mimi. She looked at the man with a frown.

“You okay, Dude? Did your head get hit with the ball during the match? Do we need to get you check up in the hospital? Or–” a sudden thought hit her. She cupped his face in fears. “Oh my God, James Lee, don’t tell me you are in love with me?!”

Hongbin shoved the hands in his face. “Not even in my dream. You are not my type, keep that in your mind.”

“Now that’s the Hongbin I know,” Mimi chuckled, she sat back beside Hongbin. “You are not my type too, don’t worry.”

They stared at each other, before bursting into laughter, realizing how absurd they conversation. It took a while for them to stop laughing and calm down.

“Anyway, I was being serious, Jung,” said Hongbin. He patted Mimi’s knee and looked at her, and Mimi knows Hongbin really serious with his words. “We will become an architect and I’m sure you will lead one of the branch of The Arrows. I don’t intend to take part in my father’s business so how about I play around in your office?”

Mimi rolled eyes when she saw the usual grin appeared on Hongbin’s face, replacing the serious expression earlier.

“Sooyeon Unnie will kick your ass if she sees you come to our office only to play around.”

Hongbin laughed. “That’s why I said you will lead one of the office, so I can work there! I like your sister, but I don’t think I can’t work with her. She’s so pretty…”

It’s Mimi’s turn to chuckle at her friend. She remembered when the first time she introduced Hongbin to Jessica when her sister came to visit her in California. For the first time on her life knowing Hongbin, she witnessed him being loss at word and avoided any eye contact with Jessica because he would blushed like a boiling crab. Hongbin was so embarrassed that he acted like teenager meeting his crush that Mimi can’t stop laugh at it.

“I thought Hana was your ideal type. My sister has the opposite personality of Hana, you know?”

“Hana is a special case, she is the ideal type for everyone, such a perfect lady… Unlike you,” Hongbin snickered when Mimi hit his arm again. “Anyway, I’m not picky about choosing partner. My ideal type can change anytime.”

“But you like someone like Sooyeon Unnie? She’s out of your league, for your information.”

“Can’t help it, she’s beautiful, duh!” Hongbin grinned. “Anyway, I remember how you looked so small in front of your Unnie, like an obedient puppy to its master. Never know the troublemaker Jung Mimi can be so polite to the elder like that.”

“That’s because you never see Sooyeon Unnie when she releases her wrath. Her glare could freeze you to death,” Mimi answered flatly.

Hongbin waved his hand, amused at the info. “You’re exaggerating, you said that because I said she’s beautiful, right? I know you were being jealous, Jung Mimi.”

“In your dream! And I’m being serious!”

Hongbin just laughed at that. Just the usual day for both of them.

 

**

 

Tokyo

< Jung Mimi > Shin boraaaaaaa

< Jung Mimi > Shinnsss borraaaaaaa

< Jung Mimi > Shiiiiinddjsj booororrwaass

< Shin Bora > Mimi?

< Shin Bora > What is it?

< Jung Mimi > Commmeeee heeerrreueurur

< Jung Mimi > Thee parytt iss awwesomemsjskdj

< Shin Bora >

< Shin Bora > Are you drunk?

< Jung Mimi > Im noooottrtt

< Jung Mimi > Werree paprting

< Jung Mimi > You sshudojfl cooeoemme

< Shin Bora > You’re drunk

< Shin Bora > I’m calling Hongbin

 

Three nights in a row Mimi kept texting her in drunk state. She paused finishing the journal she is reading to look for Hongbin’s number and pressed call.

A loud voice blasting her ears from her phone and Hana frowned.

Hana-ya?

“Where are you? Why is it so noisy?”

I’m at the bar with Mimi. We’re having a party here.

Hana’s frown went deeper, she didn’t expect to hear Hongbin was with Mimi at the bar. “Didn’t know you like drinking too, Hongbin-ah.”

Forgive me for need a break from our non-stop assignment, Ms. Shin!” Hongbin laughed on the phone, “And don’t worry about Mimi, I’ll bring her home after this. Don’t tell Sooyeon Noona, okay?

“How did you know I was about to tell Sooyeon Unnie?”

I just know. Anyway, if Sooyeon Noona has a slightest idea of what Mimi doing here, she will come here and bring Mimi back to Seoul. I can’t survive my college life without her so please do me a favor, Hana-yaaa.

Hana laughed at Hongbin’s begging. On their school days, never once Hana reported any Mimi’s delinquencies at school to Jessica because she knows how scary Jessica is when she gets mad, and she doesn’t want Mimi to get scold by her.

“Alright, I won’t tell her. Just bring her home safely, okay?”

You can count on me, Hana-ya.

 

**

 

< Shin Bora > Good morning

< Shin Bora > How’s your head?

< Jung Mimi > A hell

< Jung Mimi > I drink too many

< Jung Mimi > This is Hongbin’s fault

< Jung Mimi > See he’s a bad influenceeee

< Shin Bora > You are the one who taught him about drinking and going to the bar

< Shin Bora > Glad he’s nice enough to take care of you and bring you home

< Jung Mimi > He was the one who brought me to the bar

< Shin Bora > Because he said you guys need a break and have fun

< Shin Bora > See? He’s nice

< Jung Mimi > Why you keep defend him?

< Jung Mimi > Are you still seeing him?

< Shin Bora > I’m not! And don’t twist my words! I’m just saying he’s nice

< Jung Mimi > Nah he’s annoying

< Jung Mimi > He’s annoying every day

< Shin Bora > I thought you enjoyed the party last night

< Jung Mimi > Can we just talk about something else?

< Jung Mimi > Something that doesn’t relate to Hongbin and his annoying ass

< Shin Bora > I know you still have headache so I’ll let that curse slide for once…

< Shin Bora > Do you want me to talk about medical stuff?

< Jung Mimi > Try me

< Shin Bora > Alcohol’s impact on your body starts from the moment you take your first sip. While an occasional glass of wine with dinner isn’t a cause for concern, the cumulative effects of drinking wine, beer, or spirits can take its toll. A glass a day may do little damage to your overall health. But if the habit grows or if you find yourself having a hard time stopping after just one glass, the cumulative effects can add up.

Drinking too much alcohol can cause abnormal activation of digestive enzymes produced by the pancreas. Build-up of these enzymes can lead to inflammation known as pancreatitis. Pancreatitis can become a long-term condition and cause serious complications.

The liver is an organ which helps break down and remove harmful substances from your body, including alcohol. Long-term alcohol use interferes with this process. It also increases your risk for chronic liver inflammation and liver disease. The scarring caused by this inflammation is known as cirrhosis. The formation of scar tissue destroys the liver. As the liver becomes increasingly damaged, it has a harder time removing toxic substances from your body.

(Source: https://www.healthline.com/health/alcohol/effects-on-body#1

Medically reviewed by Elaine K. Luo, MD )

 

Mimi stared blankly at her phone, reading the chat in one-go and feeling her headache getting worse by a second.

 

< Jung Mimi > Okay, what the fuck?

< Shin Bora > Language!

< Jung Mimi > Ugh, sorry

< Jung Mimi > But really, what is that long ass message?!

< Shin Bora > Well I think you need a reminder to not drink too many in your life, Ms. Jung

< Jung Mimi > I don’t need a lecture when I have bad headache, Ms. Shin!

 

Hana giggled at the chat. She can imagine Mimi whining from her chat. If only she could see it in person…

 

< Jung Mimi > Why are you so far away

< Jung Mimi > Why do I have to be in California while you are in Tokyo

< Jung Mimi > I need you…

< Shin Bora > Do you want me to call Hongbin to help you?

< Jung Mimi > No, I want you, Stupid

< Jung Mimi > I want you to massage my head, cook me food, make me a cup of tea…

< Shin Bora > What am I, your assistant?

< Jung Mimi > Boraaaaaaa

< Jung Mimi > I need you…

< Jung Mimi > I want you to hug me… I just keep having nightmares, I can’t sleep without alcohol

 

Hana bit her lips, Mimi’s chat worrying her. She didn’t like it that Mimi seems can’t stop drinking, but she has no idea Mimi has trouble sleeping. Is she stressed too much because her study?

She hates it that she can’t be there with Mimi.

 

< Shin Bora > Well…

< Shin Bora > If it could help, I want to hug you too

 

**

 

California

“Unnie, what’s your plan for New Year’s Eve? Why aren’t you coming to see me here?” Mimi spun the pencil in her hand. In front of her, there’s doodle she has been doing for a while. Around her, there are papers everywhere in her room, but she gave up on clean it up.

“Why would I visit you? I have a lot of works here, Jung Mimi.”

“A few days ago I met Yoong Unnie,” Mimi mentioned one of her sister’s best friends. “She said she’s gonna spend the New Year’s Eve in Tokyo with you. How can you have fun in Tokyo and leaving me here?”

“Ish. Im Yoona!” Mimi chuckled as she listened Jessica yelled at Yoona who just laughed before focusing back to Mimi. “Well, yes, we will go to Japan but it’s not for vacation, okay? We will have meeting with clients.”

“Unnie~” The youngest Jung whined, something she did only with her sister. “I don’t wanna be alone here.”

“Where are Eunji, Bomi, and Hongbin? Usually you’ll spend time with them.”

“They will return to Seoul before Christmas Eve and will come back here after the New Year.”

I see. By the way, have you checked your email?

“Should I?”

Mimi rolled eyes when she heard Jessica giggled on the phone.

Okay, I’ll buy you a ticket to Seoul so you can spend your time with your friends. How about that?

“Unnie, why would I go to Seoul if Taekwoon Oppa and Appa will be in London and you will be in Tokyo? I can’t ask for presents to you if you’re not in Seoul!” Mimi protested.

Hey! That ticket is my birthday present for you!

Mimi let out a groan this time. “Unnie… You are the Jessica Jung! The CEO of Arrow Company. You are RICH, Unnie! How can you only buy a flight ticket as birthday present for your sister? Don’t be stingy, please, my birthday is only once a year,”

She heard Jessica laughed again, seems happy to tease the youngest Jung. “Okay, what do you want then, my lovely sis?”

“I want to go to Tokyo too, like you, and vacation… Please?” Mimi sighed tiredly. “I’m so close of getting crazy thanks to the endless project and hundred sketches I had to make. Please, Unnie~”

She scowled as Jessica burst into laughter again.

“Unnieeeee~ stop laughing at me. I really don’t want to be alone on my birthday. I want you to accompany me.”

“You want me to accompany you or is it just your excuse to meet Shin Bora, huh?”

Mimi felt her cheeks getting hot at the mention of Hana’s name. “Why did you suddenly mention her? I didn’t talk about her.”

Well, Hana told me she won’t return to Seoul and chose to stay in Tokyo on New Year’s Eve.”

“Told you– what, did you meet her?”

“I just had dinner with her.”

“What?” Mimi straighten up her body. “Wait, so you’re in Tokyo now?”

“I have said many times, I have jobs to do here, Jung Mimi, but I will return to Seoul tomorrow.

Mimi sighed again. It’s been so long since she met Hana. Yeah, almost two years they studied in different countries and for two years they only communicated via chat and video call. The difference time zone is another spectacle for them too.

“Mimi-ya, are you still there?”

“Hmm..” Mimi could only reply with a murmur. Doesn’t really liking the fact that Jessica could meet Hana meanwhile she stuck in California, doing her assignment. She misses Hana, but of course she won’t admit it to her sister.

“Don’t pout like that, Dear.”

“I’m not.” Mimi scowled again as Jessica again guessed correctly what she was doing.

I asked you once again, have you checked the email I sent you?”

“Hmp, you probably just sent me another project offer for The Arrows as usual, right?” Mimi rolled eyes as she mentioned her sister’s habit of asking her consideration about works for their family company.

“Now I know why you’re so whiny. I’m sure you havent read it.”

Hearing that, Mimi moved lazily open her email. She frowned at the new unread email from Jessica. She opened the email and her eyes widen. A ticket to Japan along with vacation package in Tokyo during New Year. Just like what Mimi wanted.

“Unnie! Have you prepared all this for me?!” Mimi can’t hold her squeal.

I perfectly know what you want without you telling me. Awesome, eh?” Jessica probably has that her trademark of annoying smirk on her face right now, but Mimi can’t complain about it now. “Now you can spend your birthday with Hana.”

“UNNIEEEEEEEEEE~ I LOVE YOUUUUU!!!”

She earned Jessica’s bright laughs over the phone as the reply.

 

**

 

Tokyo

“Hey! I’ve been talking for the past 10 minutes, did you even listen to me, Kim?!”

It took a while for ‘Kim’ to answer. “I’m driving here so I need to focus on the road, Babe. I don’t understand what you were saying earlier but I love you, okay?”

Mimi looked up from her phone to the couple who took the front seats of the car, Jessica was sitting at the passenger seat while her girlfriend driving beside her, Mimi was sitting behind them. They were on the way after picking up Mimi on the airport to their apartment in Tokyo.

“Isn’t tomorrow an important day for you?” Jessica asked.

“Stop talking about tomorrow. Is tomorrow important? Right now is important. Every time I spend with you is important.”

Mimi grimaced at the cheesy line. Next to her, Yoona was laughing at her reaction.

“Unnie, I’m used with your cheesy line and PDA but Mimi isn’t. Be nice to her.”

The girl who was holding the wheel laughed at that. “Ah, yes… I’m sorry, Mimi-ya, but I think you need to get used to this because I rarely control myself when I’m with Jessica.”

What she was saying only earned her a hit from Jessica, it made Mimi gasped at her sister.

“Unnie, don’t hit her! She is driving!”

Jessica scoffed. “Nah, it’s okay, she’s a racer.”

Jessica’s answer left Mimi stunned at her seat. She thought her sister’s girlfriend was a businesswoman, just like Jessica!

“Unnie, you make her confused.” Once again, Yoona laughed amusedly at Mimi’s reaction. “She is not a racer, Mimi-ya, she is a businesswoman like we are all, but she likes car so much, especially race car.”

Mimi turned to Yoona. “And she’s good at driving?”

“Do you want me to show off my driving skill, Little Jung?” The girl on the driver seat said with big grin, and got protest right away from Yoona and Jessica.

Mimi just chuckled at them before looking back to her phone.

“Have you packed up, Babe? Will you meet your siblings in Pyeongchang or return home first?” Jessica asked.

“I still have a lot of clothes in my home, Dear, I don’t have to pack too much… But yes, I need to go home and pick them up. They said they won’t want to leave if they’re not with me,” the girl answered. “I tried not to think about tomorrow, you know. Thinking about them and their noisiness give me headache already.”

“But you miss them, don’t you? You’ve been away from home a bit too long,” Jessica said as she took one of the jelly pack, opened it, and feed it to the girl. “At least, prepare gift for them. They’ll love it.”

“I bought them gift on Christmas and we will go on vacation for New Year, do I have to buy another gift?”

“You said you will always spend Christmas and New Year with them, but look at you now. You left them the day right after Christmas day for work and you will go home just the day before New Year, can’t you imagine how disappointed they are? You aren’t even like this when you were in Cali.”

The girl sighed. “What should I do then?”

Jessica shook her head and turned her body to look at Mimi in the back seat.

“When will you meet Hana?”

Mimi raised her face and thought about it.

“Maybe tomorrow morning.” Mimi answered after a while. “Why?”

“Are you going to celebrate your birthday with her?” Jessica asked, now with a teasing smile.

“I will celebrate the New Year with her.”

Mimi’s answer made Jessica laugh and return to her seat.

“Fine, so I don’t need to stay up and wait for you to go home. You have fun with her, okay?”

The youngest girl on the car could only blush at her seat while they laughed at her. She didn’t say anything but stared outside of the window.

“Babe…”

“Hmm…”

Mimi looked at the couple in front of her again. She doesn’t like any kind of PDA but for some reason she’s interested to see how her sister interact with her girlfriend.

“Make sure you bring enough warm clothes and medicines you need. Don’t play in the snow for too long because you are easy get a cold.” Jessica rubbed the cheek of the girl next to her attentively.

“Okay,” The girl just smiled adorably, making Jessica pinch her cheek.

“Tonight, don’t play games and prepare your things. Tomorrow morning I will accompany you looking for gifts for your younger siblings before taking you to the airport.”

“Okay.”

“Have you submitted the presentation to Siwon Oppa? I don’t know exactly when, but I heard he will meet with the investors after the New Year.”

“I’ll do the presentation with him.”

“Hey… Your father won’t like that.” Jessica shook her head. “Don’t force yourself. Our Oppas will definitely help you.”

“Everything will be fine, Unnie. We will definitely win the project.” Yoona answered casually with confidence. “We never lost, Unnie, and will never be. Trust me.”

“See… You hear it yourself right?” Jessica leaned over to kiss the girl. “Don’t force yourself too much, okay?”

“Okay.”

The girl smiled to Jessica, and Mimi can see, from the brief second of the eye contact the couple just did, how in love the girl with her sister.

The first time she heard that Jessica was dating the heir of this one big company at their country, Mimi was worried because the girl was known for being cold and arrogant. She’d imagined how the couple would gone through a lot of fight and bickering, knowing how Jessica can be so scary too.  But from the interaction she just witnessed earlier, the image of the girl who currently was driving the car was so different from what the media reported about her. Mimi can see how she was so nice and such a sweetheart. And Mimi is glad and happy to see how her sister seems so happy and in love with the girl. She knows the girl will take care of her sister well.

Deep inside, she wishes she could be like them too someday. With Hana, of course.

 

**

 

Hana groaned as her phone rang loudly and waking her up from her well-deserve sleep. In her normal weekdays, she would picked up the call right away, afraid if it’s about assignment or exam, but she is in holiday. Why would anyone call her early in the morning when it’s holiday? After working on many journal and assignment for months, she deserves to wake up late on her holiday. Too tired to reach over her phone, Hana let the phone ringing and ignored the call as she rolled away and covered her head with a pillow. Hana sighed in relief when the phone stopped ringing and she closed her eyes again. But within seconds, whoever the caller is, she or he is so persistent to disturb her sleep as her phone rang again.

Hana gave up and searched her phone before answered it, ready to snap to the caller.

Are you still sleeping?” Hana frowned when she heard Mimi’s voice over the phone. “Why are you still sleeping? Wake up!”

“Why are you calling me?” Hana grumbled. “What time is it there? It’s still morning here and I want to sleep.”

“Yah! It’s 11 AM now!”

“So?”

“How long do you want me to wait in front of your apartment door, huh?”

“WHAT?!”

Hana immediately sat on her bed. Her head ringing at the sudden movement, she clutched at it and groaned.

What’s wrong? Yah, please open the door. I’m freezing here.

“Yah, Jung Mimi! Are you joking around?! This is not funny!” Hana rubbed her eyes. There’s no way her best friend is in Japan right now.

“Who said I’m joking? I’m standing here in front of your apartment and waiting for you to open the door because it’s cold here!”

Is she really here? Hana frowned. She didn’t believe it but Hana thought she heard voice behind the door. She stepped out of her bed and walked to the door, clutching on her blanket over her body. She peeked through the door and gasped as she saw Jung Mimi really stood in front of her apartment door, her arms folded and she shivered under the cold weather of winter in Japan. Hana hurriedly opened the door.

“Yah! What took you so long-?” Mimi couldn’t finish her sentence when Hana literally jumped and hugged her.

“You are here! You are really here!”

Hana squealed loudly in her ears and her arms circled around Mimi tightly, and Mimi would protested at her if she’s not as happy as Hana.

“I can’t believe you are here… I missed you a lot,” Hana said, still hugging Mimi.

Mimi can’t hold her smile. The long flight and the wait under the cold weather is totally worth it now she can see Hana in person, not over her phone. The sudden visit is success. She put her hands around Hana’s waist and pulled her closer, enjoying the warm, both on her body and her heart.

“I miss you too, Bora-ya.”

 

***

 

A/N

3rd Runner..

Happy Hongbin Day!!

Happy Hayoung Day!!

Happy Yena Day!!

Happy Reading! ^^

Peace… Love… and… Kewl!! >.<

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bee...
    Sep 30, 2018 @ 08:57:57

    Suka gemes sama hanami,,kak aish updatenya cepet banget,, semoga maps juga di update, yg paling ditunggu VV jga jgan lupa di up

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.